Oh, beautiful life.

14 01 2012

Most of the time, I consider myself an optimistic, happy and joyful person. I generally have more good days than bad, I wake up eager to face my day, I feel fulfilled. I am blessed to have a wonderful family I love so deeply, I am fortunate to call a myriad of women my friends whom all are treasured in my heart beyond compare. I live a simple yet full life.

Don’t get me wrong. I have days when I want to stab bunnies. When I am overwhelmed with the redundancy of life’s annoyances. Laundry, dinner, arguments with my husband. Kids picking at each other when I am in the throes of PMS. Oh, yes. There are days, my lovelies, when I want to run screaming from my house. Days when I fantasize about living on a beach in Thailand ALL BY MY SELF. Days when I’d rather pluck pubic hairs out one by one than deal with life’s meaningless bullshit.

But thank the Goddess, those days are far and few between.

I know amongst us there are those who suffer from depression and despondency. Those who cannot summon the energy to brush their teeth, let alone shake the sadness from their soul to function in regular life. It makes my heart hurt for them.

I know, because once upon a time I was depressed too. I had sunk into a mired-down pit of anxiety, suffering daily pain from a chronic illness and also blindness to my own mental health to my situation.

Fortunately, there was one person who took control and told me to my face what she thought. My mom. She was brave enough to say those words out loud. She was the impetus for me to seek help. She got all up in my face about it, and I am so very glad.

This was years ago. I went on my “happy pills” for a year and a half. I achieved a balanced state, through Western medicine, my beloved yoga practice, meditation, a better diet and complete awareness. I wanted to live a full and rewarding life and these were my tools to achieve that. I eventually weaned myself off the anti-depressants and have been fairly balanced since.

Oh, my beautiful life. I am so thankful for you and all your gifts I receive daily. The laughter and lessons, the gifts and giggles.

If you think you’re suffering from depression, do NOT be ashamed or afraid. Talk to someone. There is help out there, from whatever path you choose to seek it from.

Oh and thanks Mom. I love you!

Blessings. Love. Laughter. Life.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

