I propose this.

18 10 2011

The influx of unique and sweet and romantic and funny and audacious marriage proposals are everywhere on the ol’ innernetz these days. Some are vomit-inducing (I say that in the kindest way I can), some are completely moronic, some are so bloody romantic they meme their way across facebook profiles faster than herpes spreads in a college freshman dorm room.

This summer, at my cousin’s wedding, my other cousin was proposed to during the evening. (Now, now, don’t fret. Mike totally asked the bride’s permission before he stole any thunder…) We had been watching everyone dance when my husband leaned over to me and whispered that Mike was proposing to Jessica.

Well. By my hollering, you would have thought it was me being proposed to. I yelled and hooted and jumped out and down and basically looked (and sounded) like a complete dork. I blame the bottle glass of wine I was drinking. It was so freakin’ cool. I have never witnessed a proposal before. Truly, it was something special to behold.

My own little proposal would never warrant a million hits on YouTube. I was about four months pregnant with our first child (totally planned, y’all). We never were that type to do things in the traditional manner. Then again, nowadays, what the hell is traditional? For me, being married was important. Getting married wasn’t.

My darling came home that afternoon from a day of fishing with his buddy. He knelt down on one knee, rubbed my tummy and asked me if I would do him the honour of being his wife.

My response was to ask him if he had been drinking.

“Of course,” he replied. “I needed a little liquid courage in me to ask you!” to which we both laughed.

I said yes, obviously. We got married the following year, surprising our families at a birthday barbeque. No one knew what we were up to that day until we handed out “invitations” when the marriage commissioner showed up. My bouquet was my deliciously chubby baby boy. We stood by my sister-in-law’s pond, surrounded by immediate family all clad in beach wear, flip-flops and shorts.

Still, regardless of the lack of a fancy white dress, tuxedos, bridesmaids and groomsmen, flowers and oodles of money spent on our day, those words we vowed to one another over twelve years ago were still as sweet and true as anyone’s.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 11 2011
Lana Torwalt

I love this story!! I love how you got married!! It’s so not about the fancy white dress, etc….. I wanted to go away and just be on a beach somewhere but my husband wanted the big wedding!!! Imagine. It was all about friends and family for him. It wasn’t expensive and flashy, just simple. Still, to me, it’s just about love. You never cease to amaze me. ox

10 11 2011
Kris

Aw, I love that your hubby wanted a big wedding! That is very sweet!

Leave a Reply

