Oh Oprah.

15 11 2010

Every once in a while, amidst cramps or the flu or just general laziness, I might find time during the day to flip on the television for a rare indulgence in daytime TV. Out of habit, more or less, I’ll check out what’s on Oprah.

Her topics range from helping starving Africans, to weight-loss techniques, to gift-fest giveaways that make the average 40-year-old white housewife orgasm in her easy-chair.

And it never EVER fails to make me want to punch myself in the face.

First off, she constantly interrupts her guests. It drives me crazy. Someone who has suffered years of abuse or horrific trauma will be telling their story, only to have Almighty Oprah bust in to re-tell the circumstance or better yet, explain for the masses what is really going on. I wonder if some of the guests don’t want to haul off and slap her face sometimes. Yes Oprah, you HAVE indeed heard it all… That doesn’t mean you need to always commandeer the conversation. Here’s a radical thought for you: Most people have minds of their own and don’t need you to explain to them what is going on. You’re like that annoying beotch in the theatre that is explaining the plot of the movie to her friend next to you. Guess what Oprah? EVERYONE HATES THAT PERSON. Oh, and one time when I was watching a show of hers, she made the comment (paraphrased) that “Only in America can someone come from destitution and rise to greatness.” Uh, yeah. Hate to break it to you, honey, but Americans don’t have the stronghold of dreams coming true….. My eyes damn near rolled out of my head when I heard that one.

Secondly, your disregard for the simple things in life is astounding. I get that you’re richer than Jesus. But flabbing your gums about your favorite moisturizer or 8 bajillion thread-count sheets made from some rare Egyptian llama that cost more that I make in seven years doesn’t make me want to rush out to buy them… it only make me wonder where your priorities are. You are a greedy consumer who doesn’t think about the consequence of your actions, OR the environmental backlash.

Thirdly and lastly…. Actually, I don’t really have a third point. The first two sum it up just fine.

I for one, won’t miss you one bit after your last show next year. I won’t be signing on for your new network, which I am sure will be rife with self-adulation and pompous self-righteous back-patting.

I realize that I sound mighty cynical. And after the last round of “Oh God, Why Did I Turn On Oprah” makes me re-think picking up that remote when I’m laying on the couch. She DOES make millions of people happy. She fulfills lives, offers hope, inspires and gets people to read.

Yet I can’t shake the feeling that her ratings are what matter, and not really the message.

Actions

Information

11 responses

15 11 2010
Ab

Wow…Andy Rooney.

Well said.

15 11 2010
Kris

LMAO, you smart-ass….

15 11 2010
Jenn Reid

Oh my god – I LOVE YOU!!! I want this tattooed on my back!!!!
LMFAO -doesn’t even touch it!!!

16 11 2010
Kris

Jenn, you crazy girl! Love you right back!!!

15 11 2010
Melissa

I stopped watching her a few years ago, It seems she turned to a totally black power, rise against the oppression talk show host. She had every black person ever in a magazine or sang a song, any claim to fame and they were on Oprah. I quit watching then. She is a pill.

16 11 2010
Kris

I thought I was going to get flak from this post…. However I see my opinion is widely shared. LOL!

16 11 2010
Rhaya

BIG thumbs-up to your post Kris! Haven’t watched her in years! I think she’s a hypocrite.

16 11 2010
Kris

It’s time for her to end the show….

17 11 2010
Ronda

Hate to say it, but…. but…. but…. I LOVE OPRAH!!! Sorry ladies, but I really truly do…. I’ll miss her daily show and yes I am signing up for her new network OWN!

Loved what you said and how you said it Kris…. you always make me laugh! Thank you…. ♥

17 11 2010
Kris

A lot of people do, and she is a very funny and warm person… You’re entitled to like her! 🙂

18 11 2010
Vicki

Well really now ! If I could write like that I couldn’t have said it better my self , her constant cutting people off while talking kills me , but the school programs for reading is awesome but that doeasn’t make up for being as Melissa said total black power !!!!

Leave a Reply

