Star Wars

14 07 2010

When the first episode of the epic trilogy of Star Wars first came out, I was the tender age of six years old.

By the time the second episode, The Empire Strikes Back, came out, I was well into the third grade. Another kid and I played Star Wars non-stop. We were Luke and Leia, before we knew that they were siblings. I do believe that there was some minor INNOCENT kisses exchanged, amongst the laser blast sounds that we screeched at the top of our lungs, while imagining that R2D2 and C-3P0 were in our menagerie of good guys versus bad guys, as we heroically battled the Empire, there on the playground of our elementary school.

I can only imagine the sight that we were.

Well. My son and daughter have both caught that bug. We watched Star Wars this past winter, and they both became utterly entranced by the story; the epic coolness that is the Jedi; the devout evil of the Empire; the disgusting sluginess of Jabba the Hutt; the “WOW, Mom, for an old guy, Han Solo is pretty good-looking” comments from my daughter; and perhaps a wee bit of “boom chicka wow wow” from my son when seeing Princess Leia in the epic gold bikini. It brought me back to the late 70’s and early 80’s, before overly-done CGI took precedence over sharp imagination and limited photography abilities that fostered three of the greatest. movies. of. all. time. Ever.

Yeah, the old stuff looks fake. BUT I won’t even get into how terribly shitty the new stuff is. Actually, I’ll just say this. IT SUCKS.

My kids started watching silly Star Wars mock videos on YouTube. My son devoted all his allowance and birthday money to the Tantive Lego Flyer and oodles of other lego sets based on these movies. My daughter can name any character in the trilogy. They play Star Wars. They watch it. They love it. They have intricate and long-drawn-out conversations about it. My daughter does a wicked impersonation of Darth Vader. Both kids have literally tried to use The Force to put their laundry away. It didn’t work.

And so, it was without question that my daughter, on her ninth birthday, receive the Trilogy DVD set…

It was only fitting.

May the force be with you…..

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 07 2010
Melissa

I remember playing Star Wars with Allen Ivanco. LOL He was the best Chewbacca. LOL

14 07 2010
Kris

Hahahaha!!!!!

Yeah, it was me and Ken that played that… Good times…

19 07 2010
Jenn

Dang it – I try to use the FORCE daily to do housework…doesn’t work for me either – maybe I need a Chewbacca furmaid…
….it’s always a pleasure to read your blog when I am knee deep in studying at night – Thanks 🙂

20 07 2010
Kris

Thank you so much!

Let’s go for a 2-for-1 on the maid thing….

Leave a Reply

