The Grey Area.

12 01 2010

I love wine. I love love love wine. I am a white wine kind of girl. My favorites are Rieslings, Gewurztraminers, Pinot Gris, and Sauvignon Blancs. I don’t really like the oaky buttery chardonnays too much. I love the fact there is a vibrant and wonderful wine industry here in my home province of British Columbia. There are multitudes of fantastic wines ranging in price from $10 a bottle to extremely HOLY CRAP that’s a down-payment-on-a-car-expensive per bottle.

I have been in the habit of having a glass pretty much every day for the last several years. Sometimes two, I must admit. I cook with a glass of wine by me, it is a ritual and a habit and something I anticipate every day. I generally never have wine after dinner, unless I am going out with friends or it’s a Saturday night movie at home kind of thing.

But.

I started to consider the slippery slope of drinking. It sure can sneak up on you if you’re not paying attention. And there are so many factors in considering the idea of stopping drinking or at least cutting back on the drinking. First and foremost, the weight gain is a biggie with me. I am in fairly good shape, as I eat right, and run and do yoga, so it’s seems sort of ironic to be pouring needless calories down my throat when I am trying to stay fit. Secondly, the cost. I don’t work anymore, so we are a one-income family…. Spending 10-15 dollars on a bottle of wine every two or three days is a bit ridiculous, considering that we are on a tight budget these days. Another reason is that quite frankly, I am kind of an asshole when I drink too much.

Last, the idea that I may need it instead of merely wanting it. That frightened me deeply.

So I stopped drinking on January 1st. Partly due to the over-imbibing of the holidays, and also to see if I could without any serious issues.

I found out a few things.

I found out that yes, I can stop and it isn’t a big deal. Whew. No DT’s, no shakes, no sweats, no obvious signs of withdrawal. Sometimes, around 4 in the afternoon, I discovered that I kind of craved it, and then I would just carry on with my shiz and it would pass. YAY!! That craving I think is more to do with the ritual of it than anything else. A cup of green tea helps quite a bit.

And I also found out that my balance in my bank account hasn’t changed drastically in the last couple of weeks.

I’ve lost weight. Without trying. Just a couple pounds, maybe more like water retention. But still, a lovely and selfish reward for given up the nectar of the gods…..

My cleanse of no alcohol and no sugar (except for that yummy dessert my Mom made the other night, damn you Mom!!!) will end at the end of the month. I plan to take stock, see how I feel, and where I would like it to lead me.

I do intend on staying in the healthy track. I feel really good, physically and emotionally, right now. From now on,  I will only have wine on the weekends instead of every day. Unless of course, I have the raging PMS-itis and my kids are driving me and the cat barfed on the floor again and there’s 17 loads of laundry to do…. THEN we’ll see…..

Actions

Information

4 responses

12 01 2010
Tracy Stuart

Good for you! I have enjoyed your blog on my two perusals. Miss our visits although they were oh-so-long ago. Being the non-drinker that I am…I have the skinny on some AMAZING de-alcholized wines…if, of course, you go cold turkey. If you don’t pick ’em right they just taste like expensive apple juice and club soda
Made me wonder what I shoudl give up to lose those dreaded pounds? Could be those dreaded cheesecake moments.

13 01 2010
Kris

Thanks Tracy! Great to “see” you here! Miss you tons!

13 01 2010
BigSis

Yup – we are twins separated at birth. I was in a similar situation, only it was more like 3 or 4 glasses a night. I’m on day 13 of no wine or sugar and have lost 5 pounds.

And, Love the new look!

13 01 2010
Kris

Oh, thanks so much! It’s a nice change for the new year… And yes, that glass or two can become 3 or 4 in no time…. Great to hear about your weight loss! Yay!

Leave a Reply

