In The Zone….

15 09 2009

I started running about 2 years ago. I dabbled in it, not really knowing how to push myself. Then I signed up for a 10 week running clinic, and finished off the training with a 10 k run, which I completed in just over an hour. (Slow, I know, but hey, considering I’m in my *cough* late 30’s and just started this whole running bizness, I think it’s pretty freakin’ awesome….)

I love it.

I also hate it.

I hate it when it’s cold and rainy outside and I know for a fact my nose will be running (tee-hee) just as fast as I am….

I hate it when I have a bad case of the PMS-itis, and I know damn well I’d feel way better if I got my ass out that door and ran a few kms.

I hate it the most when it’s cold and rainy AND I have the PMS on top of it….

But, see, the weird thing is, I only hate it until I’m actually doing it. Then, somehow, I begin to love it….

This is what I love: The even beat of my steps, the fresh air, the view of my beloved Kootenay Lake along the road, my breath, my muscles working,  an odd mixture of tunes on my iPod in my ears, the exhilaration of pushing myself a little harder, or the delight of taking it easy.

When I run, I lose my worries of the day, I become oblivious to everything but the here and now. I think it’s a form of meditation for me.

Plus, weird and randomly awesome things happen when I run. The best, by far, is when a moose ran right out in front of me. She didn’t notice me and I didn’t notice her until we were about 30 feet from each other. She jumped, I jumped, she ran up the hill, I stopped dead in my tracks and marveled at the coolness of what just happened.

I know!!! A moose!!!!!! How Canadian is that????

Anyway, I’ve never felt better about my own body, I feel so good in my own skin, and I owe it to my running and my yoga practice.

I’ll leave you with a very cool quote. One of my trainers in the clinic was in the marathon part of a triathlon once, and he was having a rough time and started to walk… When a friend of his, a very competitive athlete, and also Quebecois, ran by him and yelled:

“Eet’s a fuckin’ RACE… RUUUUUUUUUUN!!!!!!!”

Actions

Information

14 responses

15 09 2009
Mb

I like the quote. And I definitely feel the same. I loathe the idea of running in the first few minutes, but after that–I dunno, it’s just the greatest feeling on earth.

15 09 2009
Kris

Yeah, I love that quote too… It’s awesome if you yell it at someone…. 🙂

15 09 2009
Tobias

Nice! I just started running… good to hear your story!

15 09 2009
Kris

So great to hear that Tobias!!! Happy running!

15 09 2009
LiLu

I’m with you. As soon as I get going, generally, I’m pretty okay with it. And afterwards? I’m freaking ECSTATIC that I did it. 🙂

15 09 2009
Kris

It’s a real Love/Hate thing….

16 09 2009
BigSis

I feel like I’ve exercised when I go upstairs. Sad, huh? I started a diet today, who knows… maybe exercise is the next thing… You certainly are a good role model for us 30-somethings 🙂

16 09 2009
Kris

It becomes addictive….. Do what you love though!!!!

1 10 2009
jennie

Kris, as you know, I started running this past spring after years of not. Partly inspired by you! Since my surgery and diagnosis, I haven’t gotten to run yet and its been almost 2 months. I decided Monday I am gonna try to go for my first run/jog/walk/whatever. Even if I can only run 5 feet and have to walk the rest I miss it!

I’m looking for new music to run to too, any suggestions???

1 10 2009
Kris

That’s awesome Jennie!!! So glad you’re getting back into it!!!!

My running list has everything from Kanye (*rolls eyes*) to Rage Against The Machine to Michael Franti to Placebo to Lady GaGa…. Crazy.

5 10 2009
jennie

I have to google placebo…..

6 10 2009
Kris

Don’t make a mistake and type placenta…..

23 10 2009
kootnygirl

I bookmarked you – the quote sealed it 🙂

23 10 2009
Kris

I often say that to myself on my runs!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

