Summer, how I love thee…

17 07 2009

Shall I count the ways?

I love the way the hot sun feels on my skin.

I love how it feels to peel a wet bathing suit off and put on dry clothes after a day on the beach.

I love how the lake smells on a hot July day, swimming out in my beloved Queen’s Bay. It’s a delightful cocktail of warm air, clean fish and that indescribable scent of sun-warmed water… I cannot tell you how much joy I feel when I swim way out, by myself and breathe it in.

I love sitting on the beach with my friends and laughing our asses off.

I love sneaking out at dusk, riding my bike down to the beach and skinny-dipping all by myself.

I love waking at 4 AM and hearing the birds chirping away.

I love sitting on my deck in the morning and sipping my coffee while the sun warms my skin.

I love that first plunge into the icy goodness that is Kootenay Lake, where it takes my breath away in a summer baptismal rite.

I love letting the wee minnows nibble on my toes.

I love watching my kids love summertime.

I love rolling my yoga mat onto the deck and practicing while the evening air kisses my skin.

I love picking treasures from my garden to enjoy for supper.

I love getting a tan, and marveling how white my ass can look.

I love running in the morning of a hot day, rewarding myself with a dip in the lake at the end.

I could go on and on…. My soul would wither away entirely if I could not enjoy my summer. The fulfillment I receive from these summer months makes winter only a time for anticipation.

I love summer, pure and simple.

Actions

Information

8 responses

18 07 2009
Kendall

I love summer too… however, you made me love it a lil’ more (I didn’t think that was at all possible!)

21 07 2009
Alistair

Interesting: Two visitors have travelled from your summer essay to my site in the last few days.

21 07 2009
Kris

Hope that’s ok that I linked your amazing site!!!!

21 07 2009
Alistair

Of course it is. Mind you, my website’s take on our Elysium is thoroughly idiosyncratic.

25 07 2009
LiLu

Me too! God, how I wish the beach wasn’t three hours away…

25 07 2009
Kris

I am a very lucky girl!!!!

19 08 2009
Organic Meatbag

I love wearing a thong into my neighbors’ pool just so everybody gets to see my milky white, mashed potato ass…

19 08 2009
Kris

Somehow, I don’t feel like eating my ‘taters tonight…..

Leave a Reply

