Eavesdropping…

23 02 2009

So, the other night,  I could hear Nicholas and Elisabeth chatting with each other as they lay in their beds. It was Friday night, they had stayed up late, and were in the midst of a conversation. I could NOT resist creeping to the door and listening in on what they were talking about. I did this, not to spy of course, but to revel and enjoy their friendship from afar, since what they have together stands alone from me and my own relationships with them.  You see, they have shared a bedroom for nine years now, and in about a month, we’ll be moving back into our newly renovated home, where they will each have their very own bedroom. These nights of sharing, talking, and confiding with each other are quickly coming to a close.

I heard Nicholas telling a story to his sister. I’ll try, to the best of my recollection, to reconstruct what he said.

“This one time, Lil, I woke up real early. And when I went into the living room, Dad had left a bag of chips and a can of pop on the table.  So I ate all the chips AND drank the pop. Then I played on the computer for two hours. It was the best morning of my life.”

It was all I had to not laugh out loud and betray my snooping. It also impressed the hell out of Elisabeth. Imagine, a whole bag of potato chips AND a pop at your disposal, no bothersome parents telling you not to eat it???? And then, since your mom and dad are sleeping in, unlimited access to the computer??? When you’re 9 years old??? No doubt, the best morning of his life…

No doubt for me, it is the sweetest thing to hear my children confiding to and with eachother. These two, I hope and pray, will always have each other. Fights and disagreements aside, my son and daughter are tight. They get along really well. It thrills me, it astonishes me, it makes me cry to think of their lifelong bond that they share. For the simple fact that I am blessed to have my sibling as my best friend, I can only wish for my children to have the same blessing in their lives.

Actions

Information

7 responses

25 02 2009
Raven

I agree fully Kris! The bond I have with my sisters and even the ones that are not here any more are amazing. I love the time my kids spend together actually getting along and playing and only hope it gets better and better. The knowledge that they have known you at your lowest and highest and still put up with you is like no other. I have luckily grown only closer with my sisters over time. My fondest wish for my children is for all of them to only become closer as they grow also!

25 02 2009
Johnny Pierce

Loved reading this , made me smile and put myself in your shoes for a moment. Our two kids are sharing a room right now and we are thinking of doing the same as you guys. Hearing this story , I think I might just hold off for a few years and let them continue to grow their bond. When I was younger I never really had a special bond with either of my siblings . I do have more of a connection with both of them now , but not as a youngster. Reading this gives me hope for my own children to have a better chance at a special connection.
Loved it Kriss

26 02 2009
rhaya

I can so relate to that Kris. Even though Marshall & Claire do have their own rooms they have chosen to always sleep together, Claire taking the top bunk of Marshall’s bunk bed. I often eavesdrop on what they are talking about just before they fall asleep. Sometimes their conversations are serious -big brother little sister stuff-, sometimes they are silly and they giggle to each other and, more often than not, they drift into potty humor such as farting under the covers and thinking that’s just the most hilarious thing in the world! What I do love the most though is when they tell each other stories. They take turns and Marshall makes up cutesy princess stories for Claire and she makes up adventurous dragon stories for him. It’s so unbelievably sweet. We don’t know how long it will last but however long I think they will remember these days forever and will be closer because them. 🙂

27 02 2009
Kendall

I really enjoyed reading this one Kris! Party on Nick!!

27 02 2009
Jennie

I used to love doing stuff like that as a kid! And I really, truly thought that no one would ever be the wiser, like the chips and soda just “disappeared.”

27 02 2009
Annick

The other day Annabelle started crying in a very scared kind of way. She was petrified at the sight of these cute little bugs that were flying outside the window. No matter what I said she wouldn’t stop crying and trembling in fear. Lukas took her with him in the living room & I stayed where I was & watched them. He gently hugged her & said “Annabelle, those bugs are nice bugs, they’re just trying to kisss you.!”.. and she’s been fine ever since!!

4 03 2009
Ronda

What a wonderful story you have Kris of your two beautiful kids… and to hear him tell the story like that… awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

