Don’t you just love a good book?

30 01 2009

I really love to read. I feel so relaxed in my every day life when I know there is the reward of a couple of chapters of a meaty good book. Waiting for me at the end of that long mother-filled chore-ridden day, like a butler with a good glass of wine.

I can’t quite understand when people say “I don’t read.” For me, that’s equal to “I don’t eat.” Come again? You … don’t read??? How can you not read? I understand not having time. As mommies, we are all busy creatures. But the lure of a good story, opening that book while you’re curled up in your favorite chair, being swept away on someone’s words is one of the finest experiences in life.

I thought I would put out some of my favorite books that I have read, and would love to hear yours….. Some I have just read recently, and others are long-time friends.

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden

Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden

A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry

Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Travelling Mercies by Ann Lamott

I could go on and on, but these are a few jewels that sparkle a bit more brightly in my mind….

I am a happier person when I have my nose in a book. The TV can be blaring out a hockey game, the kids can be running around causing trouble and yet I am immersed. I am wrapped in Story.  I am more complete in my spirit.

I’m currently caught up in The Hour I First Believed, by Wally Lamb. And ooooohhhhhhh, it’s shaping up to be one of those books…. I’ll let you know.

Actions

Information

5 responses

30 01 2009
Jennie

Thinking on a broader level, that whole “I don’t read” attitude is why the literacy rate is declining here in the USA. In an age of technology where we get instant gratification, reading is hardly a necessity. It’s really scary. The whole “I don’t have time” is ridiculous too. If you have time to sit in front of the television, you have time to open the newspaper and look at what is going on in the world. My friends in Europe and Canada know their countries history as well as mine and kids here in the USA barely know their own!

Ok sorry for the rant!

Pillars of the Earth was great!

Wow, I really can’t choose favorites, cos there’s soooo many, but I’ve probably read On The Road by Jack Kerouac and Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand more times than anything else.

And, it’s kind of silly but, I really love to read travel books!

31 01 2009
jjlord

I think the whole to read or not to read thing got swept up in words, the way only words can when we don’t actually talk face to beautiful face. Thankfully we are so very wonderful in all our individual ways and there is so much we can learn from each other.
Sometimes I read like a mad person, reading all I can get my hands on then poof, reading is gone for who knows how long. I understand both tales of the same story. I gave Mom The Red Tent and she loved it as did I!

31 01 2009
Lisa

Hey Kris.

I have Wally Lamb, The Hour I First Believed sitting on my shelf waiting…..I am currently reading Revolutionary Road, it’s a bit slow, but once I’m half way in, I will commit to the whole book. That being said, it is not shaping up to be one of my faves.

Love your blog by the way…I check for updates everyday.

I love you dearly.

Lisa

3 02 2009
Raven

Well…..at my house you hear a lot “Oh, god, is mom reading again”! I have a vivid memory of the day in 5th grade that I took home a book and realized that if I read it, it could take me to another world. The places that I could only dream and wish to go in my mind. Someone wrote them on paper! There was no looking back for me. And like a good friend that you grew up with, I have left reading to travel; I have left reading to fall in love; I have left reading to raise babies, but I always feel excited and loved when I return. It is definitily something my father has passed on to me. I think when you grow up with someone that you love so much enjoying reading you want to a part of that. I hope I pass it on to my kids, but I love no matter what.
When I was young my favorite place to read was by the river. I would pack up a bag with some food and my best book. I would lay around in the sun and soak up that book. Now I still pack a lunch and a good book. But I sit by the lake now and einjoy reading while my man and kids have a wonderful time fishing.

6 02 2009
rhaya

I just love your book suggestions Kris, you set the literary bar pretty high so if it’s on your list I know it’s probably a good one! ‘Pillars of the Earth’ (…pause to breathe…) no joke, one of the best books of my entire life. Thank you.

I just started reading ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife,’ and so far so good.

~ rhaya 🙂

Leave a Reply

